The $300,000 buy-in Super High Roller Bowl (SHRB)

Photo of author

By luckyspinpalace

The $300,000 buy-in Super High Roller Bowl (SHRB) will see a new champion this year as last year’s winner, Daniel Negreanu, suffered a Day 2 upset against Isaac Haxton. A reduced number of players – 20 compared to last year’s 24 – registered for the no-limit hold’em tournament held at Las Vegas’ PokerGO Studio. By the end of Friday’s session, Haxton was in the lead with a significant chip advantage heading into Saturday’s final table.

On the second day of the tournament, 12 players were left standing with Nick Petrangelo holding the chip lead. However, the leaderboard saw numerous changes as the day progressed. The first four to leave on Day 2 included Paul Jager, Kristen Foxen, Justin Bonomo and Cary Katz.

Negreanu experienced some challenges as he was left with a short stack of chips. However, he found an opportunity to double back into a more workable stack. Despite being put all in for 336,000 by Haxton who had a bigger stack, Negreanu quickly made the call. Unfortunately, he fell behind and his title defense ended after the river card was revealed.

Haxton took over after Negreanu’s departure and held a sizable chip lead. He is also a previous SHRB champion having won in 2018. The game saw seven players remaining for quite some time before Petrangelo went all in and lost to Stephen Chidwick resulting in his exit without any cash winnings.

Haxton began dominating the table winning pot after pot leaving six players remaining by the end of the session with him bagging approximately half of all chips in play.

Looking ahead to Day 3 of the tournament, Haxton is poised to be aggressive towards his competitors. With only four players receiving payouts from a $300k pot, pressure is high especially for those with a lower number of chips. Although Haxton currently holds the lead, the unpredictable nature of no-limit hold’em can quickly reverse fortunes. However, there’s no doubt that Haxton is the frontrunner entering the final day of the 2023 Super High Roller Bowl.